Print Competitions:
PDI Competitions:

About Us


The objective of the Society is to bring together people who are interested in all branches of photography, in a sociable and instructive environment.

One of our main aims is to encourage members to produce pictures, whether they be slides or prints produced by means of a chemical darkroom, digital manipulation or trade processed work. All levels of experience are welcomed. Competitions are held so that we can all learn from the comments made by assessors or judges. Any criticism is intended to be constructive and to contribute to the growth of the individual author and the club members as a whole.

The Society was formed in 1988 by our Vice Presidents, Ted Moon and Des Bray, with four others. They had been members of Lewes Camera Club but felt the Seaford area would benefit from having a club of its own. Having advertised in the local newspaper, a small nucleus of members was formed. Since then Seaford Photographic has grown in numbers and expertise.

Members of the Sussex Photographic Federation for many years, we enter the Print and Slide Conventions each year. In December 2001, one of our members won the Portman Cup for 'individual best slide' and in 2003 we won the Print Convention's Sussex Trophy for 'best club' with a panel of five prints.

In 2001 we joined the Surrey Photographic Association and in our first year we made it to the final of their knockout League competition. In 2003 we changed to the Kent County Photographic Association and our first team entry to the Ross Cup (for prints) came a respectable 12th out of 31 clubs, with some very stiff opposition. A number of our members have gained KCPA Awards of Merit in print, slide and AV work.

Whilst the Society goes from strength to strength in technical expertise, we pride ourselves that it is our friendly and helpful approach that is our main asset.

If you would like to contact us, please send Gary Carter an eMail to sec.seafordps@gmail.com

See more of our work on flickr group
Follow us on Twitter at @seafordps
Hon. President: Grace Robertson OBE
Affiliated to the Photographic Alliance of Great Britain (PAGB)
Member of Kent County Photographic Association (KCPA)